Joint Advisory Committee

Stony Brook Eastern Long Island Hospital is governed by the Governing Body of Stony Brook University Hospital. A Joint Advisory Committee consisting of representatives from both Stony Brook Medicine and the Eastern Long Island Hospital Association Board of Directors consults with the community in the operation of Stony Brook Eastern Long Island Hospital on strategic planning to ensure that clinical and administrative operations are operating to optimal standards. Committee members are:

William WertheimWilliam Wertheim, MD, MBA
Interim Executive Vice President, Stony Brook Medicine
Gary E. Bie
Gary E. Bie CPA
Chief Financial Officer, VP Health System Finance & Strategy, Stony Brook Medicine
Paul Connor
Paul J. Connor III
Chief Administrative Officer
Carol A. Gomes, MS, FACHE, CPHQ
Carol A. Gomes, MS, FACHE, CPHQ
Chief Executive Officer
Stony Brook University Hospital
Helen Fall
Helene V. Fall
Thomas E. Murray
Thomas E. Murray, Jr.
Christopher Perretta
Christopher Perretta
Jim Preston
James F. Preston
Paul Romanelli
Paul Romanelli
Lloyd Simon, MD
Kai Sturmann
Kai Sturmann, MD
Robert Syron
Robert Syron
Rich Vandenburgh
Rich Vandenburgh
Jay P. Quartararo
Jay P. Quartararo
Special Advisor

Medical Staff Officers

Kai Sturmann, MD 
Chair of SBELIH Leadership Coordinating Council 

Melany Hughes, MD 
Vice Chair of SBELIH Leadership Coordinating Council 
SBUH Medical Board & MEC Member at Large
Vice Chair/ Service Chief of Surgery

Lloyd Simon, MD
Secretary/Treasurer, SBELIH Leadership Coordinating Council
Medical Director & Vice Service Chief of Addiction Medicine

Michael Sorrentino, MD, FACC 
SBUH Medical Board & MEC Member at Large
Vice Service Chief of Cardiology

Melany Hughes, MD 
SBELIH Leadership Coordinating Council  Member at Large

Candace Cummings, DO 
Vice Service Chief, Medicine 

Courtney Meringer
Administrative Vice President, Medical Affairs & Medical Education

Lawrence R. Schiff, MD, FACEO, FAAEM
Vice Service Chief, Emergency Medicine
SBUH MEC Member at Large

Gong Feng, MD
Vice Service Chief, Pathology 
Medical Director of Pathology 

Douglas Hoverkamp, MD
Vice Service Chief, Psychiatry 

Judy Ann Emanuele, MD, FACS
Vice Service Chief, Plastic Surgery 

Sergio Bergese, MD
Vice Service Chief, Anesthesia 

Ashton Stanton, MD
Vice Service Chief, Pain Management 

Howard Sklarek, MD
Vice Service Chief, Pulmonary

John Roe, MD
Vice Service Chief, Orthopedics

SBUH Medical Staff Medical Board Representation

Lloyd Simon, MD
Medical Vice President of Medical Affairs/Chief Medical Officer

Paul J. Connor, III
Chief Administrative Officer 

Kai Sturmann, MD
SBELIH Leadership

Michael Sorrentino, MD
Member at Large

Jay Slotkin, MD
Member at Large

Leadership Team 2024

The day-to-day operations of Stony Brook Eastern Long Island Hospital are overseen by a senior management team responsible for evaluating, developing, and implementing policies and practices to ensure that the Hospital is delivering appropriate high-quality healthcare to the communities of eastern Long Island in a financially prudent manner.

Paul J. Connor, III
Chief Administrative Officer 

Suzie Marriott, MS, RN, PMH-BC (she/her)
Chief Nursing Officer
Senior Vice President Patient Care Services

Susan Apicello
Vice President Administration 

Lloyd Simon, MD, FACP, FASAM
Senior Vice President Medical Affairs
Chief Medical Officer

Patricia McArdle, RN, MS, CHEP, CIC
Director of Infection Prevention and Control

Lory Tortelli
Vice President Nursing

Janet Jackowski, LCSW-R, CASAC-MC
Vice President Behavioral Health and Social Services

Raymond F. Eble, CPMM 
Vice President Support Service Division 

Tara Kraemer MSN, RN
Vice President Quality and Regulatory Affairs

Courtney Meringer
Administrative Vice President
Medical Staff Affairs and Medical Education
Stony Brook Medicine, Psychiatry Residency Program Coordinator

William J. Messner
Senior Vice President Finance 

Linda S. Sweeney, BS-BA 
Vice President Foundation/External Affairs

Lindsay Crawford
Assistant Director of Human Resources